My website offers analyses on topics of political culture research. I would like the reader to participate in my expertise in Political science (habilitation), social and cultural sciences (doctorate in Slavic and Islamic studies) as well as from my 30 years of professional experience in political consulting. My regional focus is on Europe, including the European Union, Central and Eastern Europe, the Balkans and the states in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA). On this basis, I also tap into topics from international politics.

This website offers three knowledge platforms: In the TOPIC IN FOCUS, I examine a current subject from different perspectives. Here, scientific theories and methods are discussed that can complement or contradict each other. In this way, I would like to do justice to the complexity of socio-political developments and provide my readers with more media competence to be able to form their own opinions independently of experts. I usually publish a detailed version of my analysis in parallel in the ONLINE JOURNAL FORSCHUNGSHORIZONTE POLITIK & KULTUR. TThis journal, founded in 2017, also offers translations into English (and partly into Arabic and Spanish). In the section FIELDS OF RESEARCH I give an insight into my publishing activities of the last few years outside this website.

One of the fundamentals of my academic work is the belief that open societies with a fair competition of ideas and theoretical approaches are capable of finding concepts and strategies to solve most social and political conflicts. A precondition for this, however, is an ethical commitment to the non-use of violence, to peace, to humanism and to international understanding. With this website, I would like to make my contribution to this.

Habilitated political sientist (University of Magdeburg 2002), doctor of Slavic and Islamic studies (University Bonn 1990).

Founder and editor of the scientific Online Journal:

Professional positions:

Research associate at the Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP), German Institute for International and Security Affairs, Berlin (2001-22).

Researcher at the Südost-Institut, Munich and editor of the journal Südosteuropa (1992-2000). 

Associate professor of Political Science at the Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg (2012-2022), teaching there from 1997, since 2002 to 2012 as a habilitated private lecturer.

Temporary professorship for Political Systems of Eastern Europe at the University of Munich (LMU, SS 2003 and WS 2003/04).

Alfred Grosser Guest Chair at Science Po in Nancy (France, SS 2006).

Teaching at the Humboldt University of Berlin in International Relations (2002) and at the Eastern Europe Institute of the Free University of Berlin, Department of Sociology (2007-2012).

Editor at the foreign language publisher Langenscheidt in Munich (1990-91).

Teaching German to immigrants from Eastern Europe at the DAA Bonn/Cologne (1988-89).

For questions and collaborations contact me: 
Tel. (0049) 0170 388 9526 | kontakt@sabineriedel.de

Meine Website bietet Analysen zu Themen der politischen Kulturforschung. Ich möchte den Leser an meinem Fachwissen der Politikwissenschaft (Habilitation), der Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften (Promotion in Slavistik und Islamwissenschaft) sowie aus meiner 30-jährigen Berufserfahrung in der Politikberatung partizipieren lassen. Mein regionaler Fokus liegt auf Europa, darunter der Europäischen Union, Mittel- und Osteuropa, dem Balkan und den Staaten im Nahen Osten und Nordafrika (MENA). Auf dieser Grundlage erschließe ich mir auch Themen aus der internationalen Politik.

Diese Website bietet drei Wissensformate an: In der Rubrik THEMA IM FOKUS beleuchte ich ein aktuelles Thema aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven. Hierbei werden wissenschaftliche Theorien und Methoden erörtert, die sich ergänzen oder aber widersprechen können. Damit möchte ich der Komplexität gesellschaftspolitischer Entwicklungen gerecht werden und meinen Lesern mehr Medienkompetenz vermitteln, sich unabhängig von Experten eine eigene Meinung zu bilden. Eine ausführliche Version meiner Analyse publiziere ich meist parallel in der ONLINE ZEITSCHRFT FORSCHUNGSHORIZONTE POLITIK & KULTUR. Diese, in 2017 gegründete Zeitschrift bietet zudem Übersetzungen ins Englische (teils auch ins Arabische und Spanische). In der Rubrik  FORSCHUNGSFELDER gebe ich einen Einblick in meine Publikationstätigkeit der letzten Jahre außerhalb dieser Website. 

Zu den Grundlagen meiner wissenschaftlichen Arbeit gehört die Überzeugung, dass offene Gesellschaften mit einem fairen Wettbewerb von Ideen und theoretischen Ansätzen in der Lage sind, Konzepte und Strategien zur Lösung der meisten sozialen und politischen Konflikte zu finden. Voraussetzung dafür ist jedoch ein ethisches Bekenntnis zum Gewaltverzicht, Frieden, Humanismus und zur Völkerverständigung. Mit dieser Website möchte ich hierzu meinen Beitrag leisten.

Habilitierte Politikwissenschaftlerin & promovierte Slavistin und Islamwissenschaftlerin.

Seit 2017: Gründerin und Herausgeberin der wissenschaftlichen Online-Zeitschrift:

Berufliche und akademische Stationen:

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin in der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP), Deutsches Institut für Internationale Politik und Sicherheit, Berlin (2001-22).

Wissenschaftliche Referentin im Südost-Institut, München und Redakteurin der Zeitschrift Südosteuropa (1992-2000). 

Außerplanmäßige Professorin für Politikwissenschaft an der Otto-von-Guericke Universität Magdeburg (2012-2022), zuvor Privatdozentin (Habilitation 2002), Lehrtätigkeit dort 1997-2022.

Vertretungsprofessur für Politische Systeme Osteuropas am Geschwister-Scholl-Institut (GSI) der Universität München (LMU) im SS 2003 und WS 2003/04, Lehrtätigkeit dort 1997-2004. 

Inhaberin des Alfred-Grosser-Gastlehrstuhls am Science Po in Nancy/Frankreich im SS 2006.

Lehre an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin in Internationaler Politik (2002) und am Osteuropa-Institut der Freien Universität Berlin, Lehrstuhl für Soziologie (2007-2012).

Redakteurin beim Fremdsprachenverlag Langenscheidt in München (1990-91).

Deutschdozentin für Spätaussiedler bei der DAA Bonn/Köln (1988-89).

Für Fragen und Kooperationen kontaktieren Sie mich: 
Tel. (0049) 0170 388 9526 | kontakt@sabineriedel.de